Bus Driver
NEGOTIATED AGREEMENT

2013-2015

The parties to this Agreement are the Douglas County
School District (“District”) and the contracted Douglas
County School Bus Drivers, Chapter 6 of the Nevada
Classified School Employees and Public Workers
Association, AFT/PRSP Local 6181 (“Association").

Ratified 1/14/14
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Article I - DEFINITIONS

The term “NRS 288,” as used in this Agreement, shall refer to Chapter 288 of the Nevada Revised
Statutes, also known as the Local Government Employee Management Relations Act, including

amendments made hereto.

The term "School Trustees," as used in this agreement, shall mean the Board of School Trustees of the

Douglas County School District.

The term "Association," as used in this Agreement, shall mean the Nevada Classified School
Employees and Public Workers Association, AFT/PRSP Local 6181, contracted Douglas County
School Bus Drivers, Chapter #6, and is the entity known as the Employee Organization in NRS 288.

The term "School District” or "District," as used in this Agreement, shall mean the Douglas County

School District, and is the entity known as the Local Government Employer in NRS 288.

The term "Superintendent," as used in this Agreement, shall mean the Superintendent of Schools of

the Douglas County School District or his designee.

The terms "School Trustees," "School District," or "Association" shall include authorized officers,
representatives, and agents of each, and each reserves the right to act hereunder by committee or

designated representative.
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1-8

1-10

1-11

1-12

1-13

1-14

The term "Probationary Employee," as used in this Agreement, means a contracted bus driver who has not
completed 180 calendar days of contracted employment during which time his competency in assigned

duties is evaluated.

The term "Employee," as used in this Agreement, means a contracted bus driver who has successfully

completed his probationary period of 180 calendar days and any extensions thereof.

The term "Contracted Bus Driver," as used in this Agreement, shall mean a bus driver under contract to

work a regular schedule of consistently approximate hours daily.

The term "Agreement," refers to this document, being the Negotiated Agreement between the Douglas
County School District (District) and the Nevada Classified School Employees and Public Workers
Association, AFT/PSRP Local 6181, contracted Douglas County School Bus Drivers, Chapter #6

(Association).

The term "School Year," as used in this Agreement, shall mean a year commencing on the first day of July

and ending on the last day of June.

The term "Work Year," as used in this Agreement, refers to a variable period of time within the School

Year, generally 180 days or up to 220 days on runs involving multi-track year-round schools.

The term "School," as used in this Agreement, means any day that one or more schools are in session.

The term "Work Day," as used in this Agreement, shall be defined as any day a contracted bus driver

is required to be present on the job.



Article IT - RECOGNITION AND DESCRIPTION
OF BARGAINING UNIT

The Board of Trustees recognizes the Nevada Classified School Employees and Public Workers
Association, AFT/PSRP, Local 6181, contracted Douglas County School Bus Drivers (as defined in
Section 1-9 of the Definitions), Chapter #6, as the exclusive negotiating representative of the

contracted bus drivers of the Douglas County School District, subject to the provision of NRS 288.

The Bus Drivers' bargaining unit shall be composed of all contracted bus drivers who work a regular

schedule of consistently approximate hours daily.
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Article I - DISTRICT RIGHTS

Retention of District Prerogatives

Except as expressly modified or restricted by a specific provision of this Agreement, all statutory and
inherent managerial rights, prerogatives, and functions are retained and vested exclusively in the Board of
Trustees of the Douglas County School District, including, but not limited to, the rights, in accordance
with its sole and exclusive judgment and discretion, to the following:

to direct its employees;

to hire, promote, classify, transfer, assign, retain, suspend, demote, discharge, or take disciplinary

action against any employee;

to determine appropriate staffing levels, work performance standards, content of the workday, and

workload factors;

to relieve any employee from duty because of lack of work, lack of money, or for any other

legitimate reason;

to manage its governmental operations efficiently;

to establish the methods and means by which its operations are to be conducted;

and to take whatever actions may be necessary to carry out its responsibilities in situations of

emergency.

The District's failure to exercise any right, prerogative, or function hereby reserved to it, or the District's
exercise of any such right, prerogative, or function in a particular way, shall not be considered a waiver of
the District's right to exercise such right, prerogative or function or preclude it from exercising the same

in some other way not in conflict with the express provisions of this Agreement.



4-1

4-2

43

Article IV - ASSOCTATION ACTIVITIES AND EMPLOYEE RIGHTY

It is the right of every contracted bus driver to join or refrain from joining the Association that is part

to this Agreement.

The Association may post on available bulletin boards in the bus drivers' lounge in a reasonable
manner responsible and official Association notices provided such notices are initialed and dated by
the Supervisor of Transportation. Such initialed and dated notices may also be distributed to the

Association's members via intra-District mail.

The Association may use District facilities for meetings provided such use complies with District

policy and does not interrupt normal school day nor bus driving operations.
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Artice V - NO STRIKE AGREEMENT

Recognizing the Nevada Legislature's intent as follows:

That the services provided by the District are of such nature that they are not and cannot be duplicated

from other sources and are essential to the health, safety, and welfare of the people of Douglas County;
That the continuity of such services is likewise essential and their disruption incompatible with the
responsibility of the District to its constituents; and
That every contracted bus driver who enters or remains in the employment of the District accepts the

facts stated in the preceding sentences of this paragraph as an essential condition of his employment.

The Association, its officers and agents, and each and every contracted bus driver hereby agree that they
will not support any strike against the District nor shall they engage in nor support any action which
impairs the rendering of such essential services by the District, fully acknowledging that such act is

illegal.

Article VI - MEMBERSHIP DUES DEDUCTION

Upon receipt by Business Services of a signed authorization from a contracted bus driver to deduct
membership dues, the District shall make uniform monthly membership dues deductions from the salary
earned by such bus driver. Authorized membership dues deductions will begin with the first pay period in

the payroll month following the receipt of such authorization.



6-2

6-3

The District shall deduct from a contracted bus driver's wages only that amount of monies which the
Treasurer of Chapter #6 has certified to Business Services, in writing, as the amount of dues required

of all contracted bus drivers as a condition of acquiring or retaining membership in the Association.

No later than October 15th of each year, the Association will provide the District with a list of those
bus drivers who have voluntarily authorized the District to deduct Association membership dues and
the uniform amount to be withheld for each driver. The Association will notify the District in writing
monthly of any changes in the authorized membership list. Any change in the amount of membership
dues to be withheld must be submitted in writing at least thirty (30) working days prior to the date the

change is to be made effective.

Business Services will forward monies from membership dues deductions to the Treasurer of Chapter

#6 no later than the last day of the month in which deductions are made.

If for any payroll period in which the District is obligated to make dues deductions, the wages owed a
contracted school bus driver (after deductions mandated by any governmental agency) are less than
the amount of money which the contracted bus driver has authorized the District to deduct, the
District shall make no deductions from wages owed the contracted bus driver for that payroll period
and shall make no deductions, which would have been made from wages owed the contracted bus
driver for that payroll period, from wages owed the contracted bus driver for any future payroll

period.



Upon termination, a bus driver's current month's dues will be deducted from the final check.

6-7
The District agrees not to honor any membership dues deduction authorizations executed by a bus
driver in the bargaining unit in favor of any other labor organization representing bus drivers for the
purpose of negotiations.
6-8
The Association agrees to refund to the District any excess amounts paid to it in error on account of
the membership dues deductions provision, upon presentation of proper evidence of error or mistake.
6-9
The Association shall indemnify, defend, and hold the District harmless against any and all claims,
demands, grievances, or other liability that arise out of or by reason of actions taken by the District
pursuant to this Membership Dues Deduction Article.
Article VII - GRIEVANCE PROCEDURE
GENERAL TENETS
7-1 Definitions
7-1-A

A "grievance" is a written allegation by a bus driver that the District has violated an expressed

provision of this Agreement that directly affects the grievant.

7-1-B

An "aggrieved person” is the bus driver asserting a grievance.

10



7-1-C
A "party in interest" is any person or persons who might be required to take action, or against whom

action might be taken, in order to resolve the grievance.

7-1-D
The term "days" when used in this article shall, except where otherwise indicated, mean working days

rather than calendar days.

Right to Participate
7-2-A
No reprisals of any kind shall be taken by either party against any party in interest, any school

representative, or any other participant in the grievance procedure by reason of such participation.

7-2-B
Any party in interest may be represented at any level of the grievance procedure by a person of his

own choosing.

Time Limitations

The time limitations set forth in this Article are the essence of the grievance procedure. No grievance
shall be accepted by the District unless it is submitted or appealed within the time limits set forth in
the Procedural Steps below. If the grievance is not timely submitted at Step One, it shall be deemed
waived. If the grievance is not timely appealed to Step Two, it shall be deemed to have been settled
in accordance with the District's Step One answer. If the grievance is not timely appealed to Step
Three, it shall be deemed to have been settled in accordance with the District's Step Two answer. If
the District fails to answer within the time limits set forth in the Procedural Steps, the grievance shall

automatically pﬁ‘oceed to the next step.

By mutual agreement between the District and the party in interest, the time limitations set forth in

the Procedural Steps may be extended.

11



7-4  Separate Filing
All documents, communications, and records dealing with the processing of a grievance shall be filed
separately from the personnel files of the participants.

7-5 Forms for Filing
Forms for filing and processing grievances shall be jointly prepared by the parties and distributed by
the Association.

7-6  Withdrawal of Grievance
A grievance may be withdrawn at any level by the aggrieved bus driver without prejudice when the
aggrieved bus driver has strictly adhered to the timelines.

7-7  Administration Cooperation
The administration will cooperate with the aggrieved bus driver in his investigation of his grievance,
and further, will furnish him with such information as is pertinent and available for the processing of
such grievance.

PROCEDURAL STEPS

7-8 Problem Solving

Whenever an alleged problem arises over which a bus driver may feel aggrieved, that driver and, if
the driver so chooses, their representative shall discuss such perceived problem with his immediate
supervisor without the discussion being construed as a grievance. Requests for a problem solving
discussion must be brought forth no later than five (5) work days after the situation which seemed to
give rise to the alleged problem. However, should the matter being discussed not be resolved
between the bus driver and his immediate supervisor, the bus driver may still pursue to resolve the
matter if it involves an alleged violation of the Agreement through the steps of the grievance

procedure. In cases of termination, the procedural step of Problem Solving shall be waived.

12



7-9

7-10

Written Presentation

All grievances presented at Step One of the Procedural Steps must set forth: the facts giving rise to
the grievance; the provision(s) of the Agreement alleged to have been violated; the name of the
aggrieved bus driver; and the remedy sought. All grievances at Step One and appeals at Step Two,
Step Three, and Four of the Procedural Steps must be signed and dated by the aggrieved bus driver.
All written answers submitted by the District shall be signed and dated by the appropriate District

representative.

Step One - Written Grievance to Immediate Supervisor

No later than ten (10) work days after the event giving rise to the grievance, or ten (10) work days
after the bus driver should have reasonably known of the event giving rise to the grievance, or five (5)
work days after the problem solving discussion if that option was attempted, the bus driver may
submit a written grievance to his immediate supervisor. The immediate supervisor shall give his

written answer to a grievance within five (5) days after receipt of the grievance.

7-11 Step Two - Written Appeal to the Personnel Administrator for Classified Employee Services

7-12

If the grievance is not settled at Step One, the bus driver, not later than ten (10) days after receipt of
the immediate supervisor's written answer to Step One, may file a written appeal of that answer to the
Personnel Administrator for Employee Services or his designee. The written appeal must state
specifically the bus driver's objection to the immediate supervisor's written answer. No later than ten
(10) days after receipt of the written appeal, the Personnel Administrator for Employee Services, or
his designee, shall hold a meeting with the bus driver. The Personnel Administrator for Employee
Services, or his designee, shall give his written answer to the grievance within ten (10) days after

such meeting.
Step Three - Written Appeal to the Board of Trustees

If the grievance is not settled at Step Two, the bus driver, not later than five (5) days after receipt of

the Personnel Administrator for Employee Services, or his designee's answer at Step Two, may file a

1%



7-13

written appeal to the Board of Trustees. The written appeal must state specifically the bus driver's
objection to the Personnel Administrator for Employee Services, or his designee's answer. Not later
than the first opportunity to properly agendize the appeal, the Board of Trustees shall meet in closed
executive session with all parties involved in Steps One and Two of this procedure. The Board of
Trustees shall give its written answer to the grievance within ten (10) days after such meeting, which
answer shall be final and binding on the grievant unless the Association chooses to pursue arbitration

as outlined in Step Four.

Step Four - Arbitration

7-13-A

Any grievance, that has been properly and timely processed through Step Three and that has not been
seftled at the conclusion thereof, may be appealed to arbitration by the Association serving the
Superintendent with written notice of its intent to appeal. The failure to appeal a grievance to
arbitration in accordance with this paragraph within ten (10) days after receipt of the written answer
of the Board of Trustees shall constitute a waiver of the Association's right to appeal to arbitration,
and the written answer of the Board of Trustees at Step Three shall remain final and binding on the

aggrieved employee, the District, and the Association.

7-13-B

Not later than ten (10) days after the Association serves the Superintendent with written notice of
intent to appeal a grievance to arbitration, the District and the Association shall jointly request the
American Arbitration Association to furnish, to the District and the Association, a list of seven (7)
qualified and impartial arbitrators. Within five (5) calendar days after receipt of that list by the
District, the District and the Association shall alternately strike names from the list, until only one (1)

name remains. The arbitrator whose name remains shall hear the grievance. The Association shall

strike the first name.

14



7-13-C

The jurisdiction and authority of the arbitrator and his opinion and award shall be confined
exclusively to the interpretation and/or application of the expressed provision(s) of this Agreement at
issue between the Association and the District. He shall have no authority to add to, detract from,
alter, amend, or modify any provision of this Agreement; to impose on either party a limitation or
obligation not explicitly provided for in this Agreement; or to establish or alter any wage rate or

wage structure. The arbitrator shall not hear nor decide more than one (1) grievance without the
mutual consent of the District and the Association. The written award of the arbitrator on the merits
of any grievance adjudicated within his jurisdiction and authority shall be final and binding on the

aggrieved employee, the Association, and the District.

7-13-D
The fee of the American Arbitration Association and the fees and expenses of the arbitrator shall be

shared equally by the District and the Association; otherwise each party shall bear its own arbitration

€xXpense.

7-13-E
No evidence from either party (Grievant or District) pertinent to the grievance may be presented for

the Arbitrator's consideration that was not presented for the Board's consideration at Step Three.

7-14 - Election of Remedies

It is agreed that in the event of any claimed grievance, the Association and/or employee must first
process the claim through the Grievance Procedure and the decision shall bind all parties on the issues
submitted to Arbitration; provided that this provision shall not preclude any employee from filing a
claim in another forum based upon the same acts, but claiming a right not covered by the Negotiated
Agreement, as long as the processing of that claim is delayed until the grievance is either resolved by

agreement or binding arbitration.

15



Article VIII - DISCHARGE AND DISCIPLINARY PROCEDURES

8-1 Discharge

8-2

8-1-A
The continued employment of a contracted bus driver is dependent upon satisfactory performance of
assigned duties and maintaining personal fitness to perform those duties. A bus driver may, however,

also be discharged given just cause.

8-1-B
A contracted bus driver who is discharged may appeal such action through the grievance procedure of

this Agreement.

8-1-C

In the event the appeal reaches arbitration, the arbitrator's jurisdiction and authority shall be limited to
deciding whether just cause for which the bus driver was discharged existed. If the arbitrator decided
that just cause existed, the arbitrator shall deny the grievance and shall have no authority to alter,

modify, or rescind the discharge imposed by the District.

8-1-D

The provisions of this article shall not be available to probationary bus drivers.

Discipline

8-2-A

Should a contracted bus driver's work habits, overall attitude, adherence to rules, conduct, or
demeanor become unsatisfactory during the course of his employment, his supervisor will first
attempt to counsel and assist such bus driver in identifying and remediating those behavioral and/or
performance problems. During the counseling interview the supervisor will provide a copy of Article
VIII of this Agreement and explain the possible consequences if the driver fails to improve
performance. However, insubordination, refusal to work, dishonesty, theft, gross misconduct, sexual

harassment (as defined by District Policy), threats, battery, assault, use of aggressive or threatening

16
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8-4

language, or any act that results in a criminal charge, do not require the supervisor to use progressive

discipline steps and , if proven, may result in termination.

8-2-B
However, if the contracted bus driver fails to respond to the remedial counsel of his supervisor,
discipline shall generally be imposed on a graduated basis as follows:

Written Warning - a written warning to be placed in one's personnel file that the bus driver had

received previous counsel from his supervisor regarding unacceptable behavior and/or performance,
that the counseling has been unsuccessful, and that should the unacceptable behavior and/or
performance continue, more stringent disciplinary action will follow.

Suspension - a written notification outlining the previous efforts in remediating the unacceptable
behavior and/or performance with a recommendation to suspend without pay subject to review by the
Personnel Administrator for Classified Employee Services. Prior to suspension, a meeting will be
held including bus driver, supervisor, Personnel Administrator for Classified Employee Services or
designee, and a representative of the bus driver's choice.

Subsequent Offenses - should the contracted bus driver continue to violate, disregard, or show

indifference to acceptable behavioral and/or performance standards, his supervisor may recommend

termination subject to review by the Personnel Administrator for Classified Employee Services.

Immediate Termination

Should a bus driver ever demonstrate through either his actions or omission of actions a serious
disregard for the safety of the children he transports, his supervisor may recommend immediate

dismissal in lieu of graduated disciplinary procedures.

Dishonesty, if proven may/can result in disciplinary action, up to and including termination.

1



9-1

ARTICLE IX - REDUCTION IN FORCE

The District will determine when a reduction in force/layoff is necessary and the number of individuals to

be laid off.

SUBJECT TO THE DETERMINATIONS SET FORTH IN 9-1, ABOVE, THE
DISTRICT AGREES TO THE FOLLOWING:

9-2

9-3

9-5

9-7

Contracted bus drivers who voluntarily resign will be the first to be reduced in force.

Probationary bus drivers will be reduced before regular bus drivers.

Additional reductions in force will be based upon a bus driver's "seniority” with the Douglas County
School District. The bus driver with the least contracted bus driving experience with the District will

be laid off first.

Contracted bus driving experience with the District shall mean: a contracted bus driver's continuous
service with the District, measured in calendar days from the first day the contracted bus driver

actually worked for the District as a regular driver following his probationary period.

In the event two (2) or more bus drivers have the same amount of contracted bus driving experience
in the District as defined in 9-5 above, the Supervisor of Transportation will determine the individual
to be reduced using the drivers' evaluation reports and driving records. Evaluation reports and driving

records being equal, the bus drivers shall draw lots.

Should a contracted bus driving vacancy occur following a reduction in force, laid off contracted bus

drivers shall be recalled in the reverse order of layoff.

18



9-8

9-10

The District will forward notice of recall by certified mail to the last known address of the bus driver
reflected on District records. The bus driver must, within three (3) workdays of delivery or attempted
delivery of the notice of recall, notify the District of his intent to return to work on the date specified

for recall and, thereafter, return to work on such date.

A bus driver's contracted experience with the District shall be terminated and his rights to recall

forfeited for the following reasons:

Discharge, quit, retirement, or resignation;

Failure to give notice of intent to return to work after recall within the time period specified in 9-
8 of this Reduction in Force Article, or failure to return to work on the date specified for recall, as
set forth in the written notice of recall;

Failure to return to work upon expiration of a leave of absence;

Layoff for a period of twelve (12) months.

A reduction in the number of hours a bus driver is contracted to work shall not constitute a layoff.

12



Exhibit A:

BUS DRIVER SALARY SCHEDULE
HOURLY WAGE
2013-2015

Figures below represent a 2.5% increase fo EE & E ior 2013 - 2015

The District shall pay the employer s legislatively mandated cost of any PERS increases.
DCSBD reserves the right to reopen negotiations in 2014-2015 for salary only.

Employer/Employee Employer
(13.25% EB) 25.75% F)
Step
Probationary Period I p 14.52 12.72
180 Calendar Days
1A 15.24 13.36
2B 16.14 14.15
3( 17.05 14.93
BEERIAY 1D .93 5.10
5E 18.83 16.49
Longevity - 10 Years L-10 19.77 17.32
Longevity - 15 Years L-15 21,75 19.05
Add 5% fo Step E aifer 10 yrs
Add 10% to Step 1-10 aiter 15 years

*25-year longevity: Add $400 aiter 25 years

*+per 13-6: Bus Drivers who are selected and certified as (rainers and evaluators of other bus drivers will be
paid one-tdollar ($1.00) an hour more than thefr regular rate of pay.

20



10-1

10-2

10-3

ATTAINMENT OF RANGE

Probationary Bus Drivers (Step P)

All new contracted Bus Drivers or contracted Bus Drivers being reemployed in the District after a
break in service will serve a probationary period of 180 calendar days of contracted service. None of
the benefits (such as sick leave, personal day, paid health and accident insurance, etc.) will be
available or accruable to a probationary Bus Driver. Following completion of one's 180-day
probationary period, the District will decide based upon the probationary Bus Driver's performance
whether to continue his employment as a regular Bus Driver, continue his probation, or terminate his
employment. Failure to attain regular Bus Driver status after two year will result in the individual's

termination.

Regular Bus Driver (Step A): If a probationary bus driver's employment is continued, he will be
designated as a regular bus driver, placed on Step A, and become eligible for all the benefits available
through this Agreement.

Should a bus driver complete his probationary period and attain Step A prior to April 1, he will be
eligible to be placed on Step B for his next contracted year. A bus driver who attains Step A after

April 1 will remain on Step A through his next contracted year.

Experience Increment Eligibility (Steps C, D, and E): In order to be eligible for a step increment
advancement after Step B, a regular bus driver must have satisfactorily served at least 140 days of the

number of days for which his particular contract is normally undertaken.

21



10-4

10-5

Longevity Service Increment

Any Bus Driver in a contracted position covered by this Agreement who has completed a total of ten
(10) or fifteen (15) years of service with the District shall be eligible for longevity steps L10 or L 15
depending upon one's number of years of service. Compensation for L10 will be 5% over and above
the employee's previous range and step placement. Compensation for Step L15 will be 10% over and

above the employee’s previous range and step placement.

25-year Longevity: Contracted bus drivers having driven 25 years for the Douglas County School

District will receive and additional $400 per year after their 25th contracted year.

A bus driver must have a satisfactory performance evaluation to advance on the salary schedule for

the succeeding year.

In the event a Bus driver does not have satisfactory performance evaluation, counseling or
corrective training will be provided. No later that six (6) months after the unsatisfactory
performance evaluation, another performance evaluation shall be conducted. If the performance
evaluation is satisfactory, the employee's salary schedule advancement will be reflected on the next

pay period possible. The salary advancement will not be retroactive.

Article XT - WORK PERIODS

HOURS AND DAYS OF WORK

11-1

The sole purpose of this Article is to provide a basis for the computation of the number of hours and
number of days for which a bus driver will be contracted to work. Nothing contained in this
Agreement, however, shall be construed as a guarantee or commitment by the District to any bus

driver of a minimum or maximum number of hours of work per day, per week, or per year

22



11-2

11-3

12-1

12-2

12-3

A contracted bus driver's daily hours worked will vary. Generally, bus runs required from one and
one-half (1 1/2) to three (3) hours to complete. A bus driver contracted for an A.M. and a PM. bus
run will probably work about five (5) or more hours daily. Regardless of hours worked, all
contracted bus drivers will retain all benefits included in this agreement, accrued on the number of
daily hours worked even though hours may drop below the required five hours after September

30th of each year.

Conversely, after the Average Daily Hours have been established for each route on September 30th
of each school year by the Supervisor of Transportation, any new runs which start under five hours

will not qualify for benefits for the remainder of that contract year.

The exact number of days for which a bus driver will be contracted in a school year will be
predicated by the requirements of a particular run or the needs of the District, but generally about
180 days per year for most assigned runs and up to 220 days for runs involving multi-track year-

round schools.

Article XII - OVERTIME

Overtime is defined as assigned work beyond forty (40) hours in a workweek.

A workweek is any seven (7) consecutive day period commencing on Monday and ending on

Sunday midnight.

Assigned overtime shall be compensated at a rate of 1.5 hours for each hour worked.

23



12-4

13-1

No driver shall receive overtime compensation for work, which was not approved and assigned by

the Director of Transportation.

Article XIII - COMPENSATORY ADDENDUM

Meals/Lodging
Bus drivers assigned to drive out-of-District activity and athletic trips will be entitled to meal and
lodging reimbursement (within the maximums set on the District's Expense Reimbursement

Voucher) provided the following conditions occur:

13-1-A

Meal reimbursement will be issued only when a driver has a break in service. If there is no break in
service, drivers will not be eligible for meal reimbursement.

A driver who is unable to take a meal break and has no break in service, will be compensated for
time in service. Moreover, if a driver takes a meal break and purchases a meal, she/he will be

compensated for that meal, but will not be compensated for the .5 hour of break in service.

13-1-B
To claim lodging expenses for overnight trips, a driver must submit a receipt for lodging subject to

District-set allowances.

13-1-C
If drivers choose not to eat certain meals or if meals are paid for by some other source, no District

reimbursement will be paid.

13-1-D

If required to stay overnight, drivers will not be asked to share rooms.

13-1-E

A false claim for reimbursement will be treated as dishonesty, grounds for immediate termination.
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13-2

13-3

Call Out
13-2-A - Unscheduled

Any time a contracted bus driver chooses to accept an unscheduled assignment to drive, he will

receive his regular rate of pay for the actual time worked for that unscheduled assignment.

13-2-B - Interrupted
Any time a contracted bus driver reports for a scheduled run which subsequently is canceled and for
which he could not have know of the cancellation, he will be credited with having worked a

minimum of two (2) hours for that interrupted run.

Commercial Driver’s License Department of Motor Vehicles Physical Exam
The District will cover the cost of one (1) Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Department of
Motor Vehicles (DMV) exam every two years for each contracted bus driver. The required exam

includes both the commercial driver fitness exam and the CDL certification.

A District designated occupational medicine physician will perform the exam. If the physician
limits the CDL certification to less than two (2) years, and if no lapse in employment occurs, the
District will pay for the recertification expense. The bill for said exam will be sent directly to the
District for payment. The District will not pay for an exam that is not administered by the District’s
designated physician. In the event a bus driver chooses not to have the CDL DMV exam performed
by the District’s designated physician, the bus driver will be responsible for the entire cost of the

exam. Under no circumstances shall the cost for said exam be paid by the District health insurance

policy.
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13-4

13-5

13-6

13-7

13-8

Required Attendance

Any time the District requires a bus driver's attendance at a function such as a meeting, the driver

will be paid his regular rate of pay for the time in attendance.

Standby Pay

If a driver delivers his passengers to an event or activity and is required to wait, or "stand by," until
the activity concludes, he will be paid at 100% of his regular rate of pay during the time he is
standing by. If a driver is required to stand by overnight, eight (8) hours of sleeping time will be

deducted from the total time recorded as standby time.

Trainers

Bus Drivers who are selected and certified as trainers and evaluators of other bus drivers will be

paid one-dollar ($1.00) an hour more than their regular rate of pay.

Same Position
A contracted bus driver who is injured on the job will be returned to his same position and route if

he is medically certified to return to full-time, unrestricted service within six months of such injury.

If a contracted bus driver is not medically certified to return to full-time, unrestricted service within
six months of a job-related injury, he will be entitled to the next available route following his

unrestricted medical release up to one year after such injury.

If a bus driver is not able to return to work after a job-related injury within one year of such injury,

his entitlement to any bus route is void.

Field Trips
The procedure for assigning field trips is vested with the District. Though due consideration will be

given to driving experience with the District in the assigning of field trips, the needs of the District

will be paramount.
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13-9  Paid Holidays

The following days shall be observed as legal paid holidays:
Labor Day (first Monday in September)
Nevada Day (October 31)
Veteran's Day (November 11)
Thanksgiving Day (fourth Thursday in November)
Christmas Day (December 25)
Presidents' Day (third Monday in February)
Memorial Day (last Monday in May)

Article XIV - PRIVATE VEHICLE TRAVEL FOR SCHOOL

BUSINESS

14-1
District-owned vehicles shall be used whenever they are available.

14-2
In the event a contracted bus driver is directed by the Supervisor of Transportation Services to use
one's private vehicle for school business, that individual will be reimbursed at the rate adapted by
the State and applied to all District employees for any mileage involved in conducting that school
business.

14-3

If a private vehicle is used in lieu of an available District-owned vehicle, no reimbursement will be

allowed.
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15-1

15-2

Article XV - INSURANCE

The District agrees to offer group health, dental, optical, and life and accidental death and
dismemberment (AD&D) insurances to all eligible contracted bus drivers whose daily bus runs
average five or more hours per day, or if the combination of daily runs and field trips are an
average of 25 hours per week for a total of at least 450 hours for the first semester in order to

continue to be eligible for the second semester.

The District shall pay $585.00 from July 1, 2013 through June 30, 2015 of the individual group
health, accident, dental and optical insurance for all contracted bus drivers covered by this
agreement commencing with the first day of the month following a satisfactory 180 day
probationary period for contracted probationary bus drivers and commencing with the first day of
the new contract year for continuing contracted bus drivers. The School Board, in its discretion,
may implement no more than one premium holiday per calendar year provided that there is a
fiscally prudent reserve of the previous six (6) month of claims maintained in the Self-Insurance

Fund.

No later than November of each year the Advisory Insurance committee created under Article 15-4
shall review and consider projected costs of the Plan, projected revenues for the Self-Insurance
Fund and the Insurance Fund Balance to make a recommendation to the School Board. In the event
the Advisory insurance Committee does not make a recommendation, the School Board reserves its

right to make changes to the Plan.
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15-3

15-4

16-1

Dependents of bus drivers eligible for insurance benefits under the Agreement will be allowed to
participate in this insurance program but shall bear the full premium cost for the coverage afforded

under this insurance program. Group term life insurance will not be offered to dependents.

The Douglas County School Bus Drivers Chapter #6 shall have a representative on the District's
Insurance Advisory Committee. This representative shall be appointed by the President of the
Douglas School Bus Drivers, Chapter #6. The recommendations of this committee shall be

presented annually to the School Board of Trustees.

Article XVI — LEAVES

Sick Leave

16-1-A

A contracted school bus driver, who has successfully completed his probationary period, will be
credited with sick leave time at the rate of one and one quarter (1-1/4) days for each month worked:
provided that bus drivers contracted to work 220 days will be credited with earning sick leave over
a 12-month period and be credited with 15 sick leave days per year. However, one full day of sick
leave will be deducted regardless of the number of hours a bus driver is scheduled to work on any
particular day of his 220-day-contract should he have a need to use sick leave for all the hours on

such day.

16-1-B

Unused sick leave may be accumulated from one year to the next up to a total of 180 days.

16-1-C
Sick leave may be taken in quarter, half, or full day increments. All the sick leave, which a bus
driver has accumulated, may be used for his own illness or disability or medical/dental

appointments, which cannot be scheduled outside the bus driver's assigned workday.

29



Any contracted Bus driver who takes sick leave must contact their immediate supervisor or acting
supervisor when possible before the sick time is taken. Any bus driver who takes three (3) or more
consecutive days without initially contacting his immediate supervisor or acting supervisor prior to
taking the leave will be considered to have abandoned his position and will be subject to Article
16-17-A unless:

the reason for the absence is verified by a physician to have incapacitated the bus driver to

the point notification was not possible.

or, the bus driver worked out a scheduled return date with his immediate supervisor or

acting supervisor.

or, the bus driver had a bona fide, variable emergency or medical issue, which prevented

the employee from calling prior to within the first three (3) days of absence.

16-1-D
Sick leave may also be taken for the following reasons that affect the employee's ability to devote

full attention to his job:

16-1-D-1
up to fifteen days in one year for unavoidable absence caused by a serious accident or critical
illness of the employee's spouse, parent, sibling, grandparent, child, grandchild, and those similarly

related by marriage; and

16-1-D-2

will be granted a leave of absence of not more than three (3) consecutive days for each occurrence
to be deducted from sick leave in the event of bereavement. An additional 5 days may be deducted
from sick leave for immediate family for each occurrence at the discretion of the Superintendent.
At the discretion of the District, verification may be required to confirm the need for the

bereavement leave.
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16-1-D-3
In the case of critical illness to a bus driver's parent, sibling, child, or spouse, all other leave as
provided in this Agreement having been exhausted, the Assistant Superintendent for Personnel

Services may grant five (5) additional unpaid leave days upon written request from the bus driver

so affected.

16-1-E
The District may require a physician's certificate or other documentation and may make any
appropriate inquiry to verify an employee's claim for sick leave. Improper use of sick leave

benefits will be considered abusive and is subject to severe disciplinary actions.

16-1-F Sick Leave Bank

16-1-F-1

The purpose of the Sick Leave Bank is to provide assistance to contracted bus drivers who are
unable to perform the duties of their position due to long term, catastrophic illness or disabilities
and who have exhausted their sick leave accumulation. Sick Leave Bank assistance is not to be
used for normal pregnancy related conditions or disabilities. Sick Leave Bank assistance will not

be granted for dependent or immediate family illness.

16-1-F-2

In order to be eligible, bus drivers who were contracted and who completed their probationary
period in the previous year in the District and who are interested in participating in the Sick Leave
Bank shall complete and submit a sick leave Bank Participation/Authorization form to the
Executive Board of the Douglas County Bus Drivers Association, Chapter 6 (Association) with

copies forwarded to Human Resources and Business Services.

1) Sick Leave Bank Participation/Authorization forms will only be accepted during the open

enrollment period of September 1 through September 30.

2) Sick Leave Bank Participation/Authorization forms will be made available from the Association

representative.
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3) Although the District will not be involved in decisions regarding the Sick Leave Bank's
operation, the Association agrees to keep written minutes of the Douglas County Bus Drivers
Association, Chapter 6, Executive Board's deliberations, such minutes to be sent to the

Superintendent following each of those deliberations and/or meetings.

16-1-F-3
Bus Drivers participating shall donate and have deducted from their own sick leave account two (2)
days from the first time the contracted bus driver is eligible for and chooses to participate in the

Sick Leave Bank and (1) day in any year thereafter for the operation of the Sick Leave Bank.

16-1-F-4
Whenever the total number of days in the sick leave bank is less than 50, the Association will
inform the bank membership that a special assessment of one additional sick leave day per member

will be made to reimburse the bank. Such assessment, if needed, to be assessed but once in a year.

16-1-F-5
Bus Drivers participating in the Sick Leave Bank shall continue their participation from year to

year unless they notify the Douglas County Bus Drivers Association, Chapter 6, Executive Board in

writing of their intent to withdraw.

1) A bus driver who withdraws form the Sick Leave Bank will not be reimbursed for the sick leave

days already contributed.

16-1-F-6

Days not used during the school year will carry over to the next year.

16-1-F-7

Only Bus Drivers who have contributed to the Sick Leave Bank will be eligible to receive
assistance from the Sick Leave Bank. Bus Drivers must exhaust all accumulated sick lave before
they can become eligible to receive assistance from the bank. Only current sick leave bank

members are eligible for this benefit.
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16-1-F-8

Bus drivers who wish to apply for assistance from the Sick Leave Bank shall complete and submit a
Sick Leave Bank Assistance Application to the Bus Drivers Association Executive Board. Sick
Leave Bank Assistance Applications will be available upon request from the Association

representative.

1) The Bus Drivers Association Sick Leave Bank Board shall be Executive Board of the Bus

Drivers Association, Chapter 6.

2) The Bus Drivers Association Executive Board shall review the bus driver's application, sick

leave account, and usage. The Executive Board has the right to accept or reject requests.

3) The Bus Drivers Association Executive Board shall forward its decision to the District Human
Resources and Business Services Offices. The decision of the bus Drivers Association Executive

Board is final and is only subject to review through the internal structure of the Bus Drivers

Association.

4) An eligible bus driver approved for assistance from the Sick Leave Bank may be granted a

maximum number of 30 days sick leave per year.

16-1-F-9
The term 'year' for purposes of this procedure shall be defined as the school year July 1-June 30.

16-1-F-10
The Bus Drivers Association and its members shall hold the District harmless against any and all
claims, demands, grievances, or other liability that arise out of or by reasons of actions taken by the

Association in administrating the Sick Leave Bank.
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16-2

16-3

Personal Leave
Following completion of their probationary period, all bus drivers will be granted two (2) days of
paid personal leave during their contract year. Bus drivers may accumulate up to a maximum of

four (4) days of personal leave per year. Personal days may be used individually or together subject

to the restrictions of this article.

Personal leave cannot be taken during the first ten (10) days nor the last ten (10) days of the school
year for students and only one (1) day will be granted on a day preceding or following any
scheduled holiday, holiday weekend, or vacation recess. Exceptions to this restriction of personal
leave use may be appealed to the Assistant Superintendent for Human Resources in cases of bona
fide emergency. Request to use personal leave, except in the case of emergency, must be submitted
to the bus driver’s immediate supervisor at least three (3) days in advance of such leave.

Bus Drivers will be compensated at the end of the school year at their normal hourly pay rate for

each unused personal day in excess of two (2) days available for accumulation.

Pay For Unused Sick Leave

Upon retiring, the District will contribute $25.00 per day for each day of unused sick leave, up to a
maximum accumulation of 180 days, for any Bus driver who meets the following criteria:

has completed ten (10) years of service with the Douglas County School District;

has verified through the Public Employees' Retirement System of Nevada the date that

retirement benefits will begin.

The Contribution will be applied for one of the following Bus driver options:

$25.00 per day for each day of accumulated sick leave in a lump sum payment.

$25.00 per day for each day of accumulated sick leave to an insurance fund from which health and

accident insurance premiums will be paid to the District's insurance carrier.
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16-4

16-5

Health and accident insurance premiums will be paid until such time that the amount initially
deposited in the retiring Bus Driver's name has been exhausted. In the event of the retired Bus
Driver's death before the exhaustion of his insurance fund, a one-lump payment in the amount of

the remaining fund will be paid to the retiree's beneficiary.

Jury Leave

16-4-A

A contracted bus driver who is required to report for jury duty shall be entitled to leave with pay for
scheduled work hours lost as the result of such service.

16-4-B

A contracted bus driver who reports for such service and is excused there from shall immediately
contact the Supervisor of Transportation and report for work, if requested.

16-4-C

In order to be paid by the District for such leave, the bus driver must submit to the Director of
Business Services written proof, executed by the administrator of the court, of having served, the
duration of such service, and the amount of compensation received for such service.

16-4-D

Any court compensation received by the bus driver as a result of being called for jury duty must be

remitted to the District.

Uncompensated Leave

16-5-A - Medical

16-5-A-1

Any contracted bus driver who has successfully completed his probationary period, who is
temporarily disabled and unable to work due to a medical condition, and who has exhausted his
accumulated sick leave, will, upon written request, be granted a leave of absence without pay for

the period of his disability, provided such period shall not exceed six months.
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16-5-A-2
The term medical condition as used in 16-5-A encompasses all temporary medical disabilities,

excluding pregnancy related disabilities.

16-5-A-3

Health and accident insurance benefits ordinarily provided by the District and for which the bus
driver is otherwise eligible, will be continued during the period of medical leave only if the bus
driver elects to pay the full costs of such coverage. The cost of dependent coverage normally borne
by the bus driver will also remain the sole responsibility of the bus driver. The bus driver should

make arrangements with Business Services to pay for the costs of such coverage before the leave

begins.

16-5-A-4

A bus driver who requires an unpaid medical leave of absence must notify Personnel Services in
writing of the need for such a leave as soon as the employee learns that he is, or will become,
temporarily disabled and unable to work due to a medical condition. The notice must be
accompanied with a form provided by the District with medical documentation from the attending
physician that verifies the existence of the medical condition, the anticipated duration of the
disability, and the dates the leave is expected to begin and end. The form must be signed by the

attending physician.

In the event the medical condition or documentation is deemed not satisfactory by the District, the
district may seek a second opinion as to the existence or severity of the medical condition or

disability at the District's expense.

16-5-A-5
Before returning to work from a medical leave of absence, an employee must provide a physician's

statement that indicates that he is fit to return to work and his ability to perform will not be limited

in any way.
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16-5-A-6

When determining whether an employee who is disabled within the meaning of the federal
disability law is able to return to work, the physician should make an individualized assessment of
whether the employee can, with or without reasonable accommodation, perform the essential

functions required of a bus driver.

16-5-A-7

Although the District is unable to guarantee reinstatement to a bus driver's exact position at the end
of his medical leave of absence, he will be returned to a comparable bus run. Such an employee
will be credited with all service prior to the commencement of his disability but not for the period

of his disability.

16-5-A-8

Requests for extensions of a medical leave of absence will be considered if they are received by
Personnel Services in writing before the expiration of the approved leave. The request must be
accompanied with a form provided by the District and medical documentation from the attending
physician that verifies the continued existence of the medical condition for which the leave was
requested per 16-5-A. Request for extension shall not cause the total period to exceed six (6)
months. A Bus driver who fails to report for work immediately following the expiration of an
approved leave is deemed not satisfactory by the District; the District may seek a second opinion as

to the existence or severity or the medical condition or disability at the District's expense.

16-5-B - Long-Term Personal
16-5-B-1
The Board may grant an uncompensated leave of absence to any bus driver who has served a

minimum of five (5) years of continuous service with the District.
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16-5-B-2

The request must be made in writing and as much in advance of the requested leave as possible; it
shall state the amount of time requested (not to exceed twelve [12] months) and the reason for the
request. The Board will not consider a request that has not been approved by the Supervisor of

Transportation and the Superintendent.

16-5-B-3
Bus drivers who wish continuation of their group health benefits while on an unpaid personal leave

of absence must make advance premium payments.

16-5-B-4
Upon return from an approved unpaid personal leave of absence, a bus driver will be returned to the

same route he held prior to the commencement of his leave or to a route that is comparable.

16-5-B-5
If the purpose for which the leave was granted is subsequently violated by the bus driver, the leave

will automatically be canceled and the bus driver's services terminated.

16-5-B-6
Any driver not able to return to his bus driving duties following expiration of a long-term leave

forfeits any claim to District employment thereafter.

16-5-C - Incidental

Incidental unpaid leaves of absence limited in the aggregate to five (5) days per year may be
granted given positive endorsement by the Supervisor of Transportation and approval by the
Assistant Superintendent for Personnel Services.

Additional unpaid leave may be requested in writing in case of bona fide emergency. Approval
for this leave will be at the discretion of the Assistant Superintendent for Human Resources,

whose decision will be final and not subject to appeal.
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16-6

Maternity Leaves
16-6-A - Pregnancy
The provisions of sick leave contained herein may be applied to any illness or disability attributed

to pregnancy, termination of pregnancy, or recovery there from.

Use of sick leave for recovery from childbirth is limited to six (6) weeks for normal delivery and
eight (8) weeks for cesarean delivery unless a verifiable medical condition exists to justify

additional use of sick leave. Verification is subject to a second opinion at the District's expense.

Sick leave is not to be used for child rearing.

16-6-B - Child Rearing

16-6-B-1

A bus driver shall be granted a child-rearing leave without pay not to exceed six (6) calendar
months upon written application to the Board of Trustees submitted at least six weeks prior to the
commencement of the requested leave.

16-6-B-2

Such leave may be requested at any time during the pregnancy or within four (4) months after the

birth of the child.

16-6-B-3

No benefits shall apply or accrue to bus drivers while on child-rearing leave, except that they shall
be credited with one (1) year of service for salary advancement if they have worked at least 140
days of their contract at the time such leave commenced. Upon return, the bus driver shall be

credited with any accumulated unused sick leave.

16-6-C - Adoption
16-6-C-1
An employee shall be granted an adoption leave without pay not to exceed six (6) calendar months

upon written application to the Board of Trustees submitted at least six (6) weeks prior to the
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16-7

16-8

commencement of the requested leave provided the request is made within three months after the

day of the adoption.

16-6-C-2

Upon return, the employee shall be paid at the salary step on the salary schedule immediately
higher than the step applicable at the beginning of such leave, provided that the employee had
worked at least 140 days of his contract at the time the leave commenced. Upon return, the bus

driver shall be credited with the unused sick leave accumulated at the time the leave of absence

commenced.

Unauthorized Leave

16-7-A

Any absence without authorization shall be grounds for disciplinary action. Any unauthorized
absence of three (3) consecutive workdays shall constitute an abandonment of position and will be

treated by the District as a resignation.

16-7-B
Prior to noticing the employee of his separation under this section, the District will send a certified
letter to the employee's last address of record advising him of the District's intent to terminate him

unless he contacts the District within three (3) work days from the date the letter was mailed.

In the event the employee does contact the appropriate District administrator within the three days,
the District may still proceed with disciplinary action; however, the action may be reviewed

through the grievance procedure set forth in this Agreement.

Association Leave
16-8-A
Beginning each school year, the Association shall be credited with ten (10) days aggregate leave to

be used for Association business. Such leave is not accumulative.

40



17-1

17-2

17-3

16-8-B
Association leave shall be requested by the Association president not less that three (3) work days

prior to the commencement of such leave.

16-8-C
The Association will be billed for the average daily rate of pay of the individual released for

Association leave.

Article XVII - GENERAL SAVINGS CLAUSE

It is not the intent of either party hereto to violate any laws of the State of Nevada or of the United
States. The parties agree that in the event any provision of this Agreement is held by a court of
competent jurisdiction to be in contravention of any such laws, they will enter into immediate
negotiation thereon at a time and date agreeable to both parties. The remainder of the agreement

shall remain in full force and effect.

During the negotiations resulting in this Agreement, the District and the Association each had the
unlimited right and opportunity to make demands and proposals with respect to any subject matter
not removed by law from the areas of mandatory bargaining. This Agreement, therefore, contains
the entire understanding, undertaking, and agreement between the District and the Association and
finally determines all matters of collective bargaining for its term. Changes to this Agreement,
whether by addition, waiver, deletion, amendment, or modification, must be executed by both the

District and the Association and reduced to writing.

This Agreement contains all benefits relating to bus drivers and no others are incorporated herein.
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18-1

18-2

Article XVIII - TERM OF AGREEMENT

TERM OF AGREEMENT

This Agreement shall be effective as of the 1st day of July 2013 and shall remain in effect until the
30th day of June 2015, with a reopener on salary only for 2014-2015, and will continue in full force
and effect for an additional period of one (1) year unless either party gives written notice to the
other in accordance with the provisions of NRS 288.180 of a desire to change, amend, or modify

the Agreement.

In the event a successor agreement is not executed before the termination date of this agreement as
stipulated in 18-1 above, the District will continue to honor any benefits a contracted bus driver
may have accrued prior to the termination date of the agreement without enhancing those benefits

until such time a successor agreement is ratified by both parties.
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IN WITNESS WHEREOF, the parties have hereunto set their hands this 14" day of January 2014.

Douglas County School Bus Drivers
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